LIVE Shostakovich Symphony No 10 – Gianandrea Noseda/London Symphony Orchestra

Shostakovich’s music is such an important chronicle of life in 20th century Soviet Russia, and here is an important pillar of that story. Streamed live from the Barbican Centre, London on Sunday 24 June 2018, 7.45pm GMT.

Starts with an introduction by Rachel Leach, with David Owen Norris and live guests Dudley Bright and Gerry Ruddock.

Symphony starts at 24:45
49:18 – 2nd movement
54:16 – 3rd movement
1:06:42 – 4th movement

Download the programme notes

Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony was written after Stalin’s death and portrays the tragedy, despair, terror and violence of his tenure. The second movement is a musical portrait of Stalin, a march of unremitting terror and frenzied violence, while the finale contains some of the slowest of the whole symphony, a reminder of the desolation of the Gulag prisoners.

Donate now to support future live streamed concerts:

This concert is generously supported by LSO Principal Partner Reignwood.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *